Days Like Today

There are some days where I feel like I have it all together, and then there are days like today.

Today I have scrolled through my Facebook feed not really reading anything, hoping for a good enough distraction to justify the multiple baskets of laundry waiting to be folded on my couch.

Today I have tried to convince my kids that cartoons in mommy’s bed all morning would be fun just so could try and squeeze in a few more minutes rest (spoiler alert – it didn’t work).IMG_5640

Today I only read one chapter in the Bible because I was too distracted to even focus on the words.

You know what? That’s okay.

Some days we need to take it easy and relax, enjoying our kids where they are. The laundry will wait for me to get to it later (although I secretly wish it would put itself away…) while I cherish watching M play in the living room.IMG_2377

I can sit here and close my eyes listening to her beautiful voice as L takes her nap.

Later I will put on Andrew Wommack Ministries and listen to him preach the word of God as I tackle some laundry. Maybe I will sneak into bed early tonight when I get the girls down.

I have learned in my almost seven years of being a mom that there is definitely a balance. Some days I’m like a supermom. I have the house spotless, I cook amazing meals that everyone loves. I have the kids bake sweets with me and at the same time manage to make them new skirts or hair bows or whatever they seem to be asking for.IMG_6528

Those days there is no laundry sitting on the couch and I want to workout rather than nap. Those days I chase the girls in the sprinklers in the back yard and plan elaborate dinner picnics for them to enjoy outside.

Days like today make those days more special. Today is an average day. The house isn’t dirty but it’s nothing to brag about. Today I have a roast ready to go into the oven for dinner and I might even make some quick rolls for the meal.

The key is to remember that days like today balance those days where it feels like you can do everything. Days like today aren’t less special because there is magic in watching your kid use their imagination, having conversations with their toys. There is magic in resting in the knowledge that your worth isn’t based on what you do or don’t do accomplish in any given day.

There is magic in the days like today because M will smile up at me and I know that she is so secure in my love for her. I know that she doesn’t worry about the clutter on the couch or what she’s going to eat. Even when I don’t feel like I’m doing my best, my girls know that I will never let anything happen to them and they don’t need a super mom, they just need me.

When you’re having a day that maybe you don’t feel like you’re doing enough for you or your kids, just look at their perfect faces. Just smile at them and cherish the beautiful moment where they emanate their love right back at you. Even on your worst days you are all your kids need and you are enough!IMG_5555.JPG

2 thoughts on “Days Like Today

Leave a Reply

