The Day After Mother’s Day

This weekend was amazing! My family went out of their way to spoil me and we got to spend time with our extended family as well. I wasn’t feeling great so I got to do lots of nothing which is exactly what I wanted.

IMG_7161

But that brings us to today… the day after Mother’s Day…

Today might be the day I dread most out of the entire year.

See yesterday, and all weekend, my family didn’t want me to lift a finger. They wanted me to relax and not worry about anything in the house, and really, how can I say no to that?!

Yesterday I was showered with hugs and kisses and sloppy cards that I will cherish forever and some awesome wall art my husband made for me with the girls. Yesterday I slept in until I could no longer ignore the screams from my girls and my husbands hushed voice trying in vain to quiet them.

IMG_0489

Today I woke up to all the laundry I should have done this weekend. Piles and piles of laundry that needed to be done, but not so badly that anyone else would do them for me.

Today I woke up to my girls room destroyed after I had spent hours cleaning and organizing it with them last week.

Today I saw that L had taken her diaper liners and strung them out about her room like beautiful crepe paper.

So today not only is it back to the grind for me but I feel like I’m behind the eight ball here. I don’t just have to run for my usual errands I have to try to catch up with all the stuff I should have done this weekend.

Holidays are awesome and I LOVE that my family cares for me so much that they want to make my day as special as possible but the day after a holiday is hard work!

Every other holiday its just a given that mom is going to be sneaking in a little work, making sure the dishes get done and the rooms don’t get demolished. Any other holiday its socially acceptable for a mom to organize that pesky corner in the living room that seems to collect blankets just like it would dust.

IMG_7194

But not Mother’s Day.

I don’t know if it’s just me but the day after Mother’s Day is a lot of work. It’s all the work I should have done on Mother’s Day but my kids didn’t want me to.

So today I will be folding the laundry and washing all our counters (seriously every counter is sticky, how does that even happen?!) and remembering that my family loves me so much they want me to relax all day on Sunday, but not quite so much that they’re going to pick up the slack.

And while I may dread today, I love my family and I wouldn’t want it any other way!

IMG_6189

Leave a Reply

